Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

Sizing for Cannondale Synapse- did I buy too small?

Search
Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-20, 12:36 PM
COYSpurs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

Hey there,

First off, I am new to the forums so looking forward to being in the community. I am also new to the sport of cycling and looking for some help! I am coming from riding a Focus Urban commuter bike and have decided to purchase my first road/endurance bike in a 2020 Cannondale Synapse. The person at the store was not entirely helpful when choosing the size of the bike and told me I could go with a 54 or 56 frame and "could not go wrong with either". Because of this, I had a hard time deciding on the right frame and ultimately chose the 54 for a few reasons:
  • the 56 frame had a huge scratch and he wouldn't discount it at all
  • the 56 felt big and the reach seemed super long. Granted, I've never been on a road bike so the stretched feeling is all new to me.
  • I also realized the 54 is very similar to my current bike and felt more comfortable
  • Lastly, everyone says "you can make a small bike bigger"
I am about 5'9 in height. So far, I've gone on 3 rides each about 1 hour and between 12-15 miles. My main complaint is lower back pain. I can't determine if this is just expected for new riders or if the fit is off.