Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Giant Defy Frame vs BD Gravity Frame

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-12, 11:31 AM
RyKnocks

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all,

I'm still very new to all of this. So far I know that going with an LBS is the way to go and I would love to do that, but I'm also a "bang-for-buck" kinda guy that doesn't mind tinkering with mechanics. It's my understanding that many frames on the market are made in the same factory and that frames within a certain price point generally perform the same. Yet, I still find myself a bit torn. Here are the bikes:

Giant Defy 5
https://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-us/....5/9014/48856/

Gravity Comp X
https://www.bikesdirect.com/products/gravity/comp_x.htm

Aside from the obvious difference in componentry (Gravity wins by a long run), the frames are nearly the exact same dimensions. A plus that I saw with the Gravity was that it will come with a carbon fiber fork where the Defy will come with an aluminum composite.

So putting LBS/Warranty/other highly debated topics aside, will there be much difference in the way these frames will perform?
Old 03-28-12, 11:47 AM
Juan Foote
LBKA (formerly punkncat)

Bikes: Spec Roubaix SL4, GT Traffic 1.0

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 2208 Post(s)
Liked 960 Times in 686 Posts