Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

New to Hybrid, tire questions

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-11, 05:54 AM
Edubah

Bikes: Specialized Crosstrail Pro

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi everyone, I am new to hybrid bikes, and am about to pull the plug and purchase a Specialized Crosstrail Pro, but I have some questions. The bike comes with 700 x 45c tires and I am wondering how wide and how narrow I could go if I want to replace/upgrade someday. The allure of a hybrid to me is I could put narrow tires on for pavement/city and wide for trails, but I have no idea what the limits are, and so far 45 is the widest I have been able to find online. Also, if anyone has any opinion on this bike I would appreciate it. In my area (central WI), the selection is pretty slim. It was either this or a Cannondale Quick CX2. Thanks.
Old 06-27-11, 07:11 AM
khutch
Sumerian Street Rider

Bikes: Dahon Mu P8, Fuji Absolute 1.0

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The widest tire you can use is dictated by both your rim width (internal width from bead hook to bead hook) and the frame clearance you have, ie the size of the gap between the present tires and the frame. If you have 5 mm clearance on each side of the 45 mm tires then obviously 55 mm tires will be absolutely the largest you could use, 50 mm is a more likely max. Keep in mind that wider tires are also taller tires and frames often are angled so that the available space diminishes as the tire height increases which may limit your tire size even further.

On the other hand 45 mm tires are likely to be the max you would want to use anyway.