Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Need advice on picking an electric bike

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-12, 02:45 AM
sunv

Bikes: 56cm IRO Mark V

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi I'm new to electric bikes and want to try them out.
I would like to find a bike that < $800 used.

Some backstory. I will be commuting anywhere between 6-10 miles one way next month. I'd like to use an electric bike to do it. The route is not too hilly, but is mostly on roads in the business area of town.

Some requirements for the bike:
1. Be able to maintain 20-25mph with easy pedaling
2. Can survive my full day's commute (12-20 miles) in one charge.
3. Can maintain at least 15 mph without battery power (so not too heavy of a bike).

Some background on me. 2 years ago I used a road bike to commute 8-10 miles every day (holding a speed of 18-20mph). I'm not in shape now, but I can get back into that shape. I'm in my 20's.

Just some questions:
1. Can I ride an ebike in the rain without damage?
2. Are there speed limits to these bikes?

Basically I've searched on Craigslist and found lots of electric bikes. But I'm not familiar with them so i dont know how to tell what is good or not. Like some have motor in the front wheel vs back wheel. Some have a motor that just rubs on the rear wheel, or that drives the front chain ring. Or some have frames specially built to hold the battery (ebike), while some (like ezip) have the battery on a rack.

Which are the older or inferior models? Which is better for my needs?
What should I look out for when looking at these bikes?

Could someone summarize like a few majors brands and models of electric bikes with pros and cons? Like why would 1 choose an ezip or ebike?