Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

6' - 56cm; anybody else?

Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

6' - 56cm; anybody else?

Old 07-16-15, 10:20 PM
Phamilton
Virgo

Bikes: A touring bike and a hybrid

Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked 97 Times in 69 Posts
6' - 56cm; anybody else?

Long story as short as I can make it - my progression of bikes and fit experiences since I started riding again approx 3 years ago, and then a few questions.

(1) Huffy Stalker 10 spd mtb - medium size, I guess (ignorant of sizes/dimensions at the time, but probably like an 18-20" based on my recollection of how it looked) - felt a little small but quite comfortable, got some hand/wrist pain after being on the bike after about 2 hrs. Best $40 ever spent. Stolen.

(2) NEXT Avalon comfort bike - size L frame, still ignorant of sizing/dimensions. Not sure what was supposed to be comfortable about it. Hated it, gave it away.

(3) Schwinn Continental - 20" frame. Too cramped and everything hurt. Traded my dad for #4 (he's 5'6" - I'm 6' even).

(4) Raleigh Marathon 58cm or 23" - too stretched out and everything hurt - hands, back, neck, and "undercarriage"

(5) Schwinn Collegiate 3 22" - golly, fits joyously. No joke, no exaggeration.

(6) Schwinn Clear Creek rigid MTB - 22" (xl I guess) - too stretched out, hands hurt and a little back pain