Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

New Bike Shortage

Old 05-20-20, 08:47 AM
Sunman54

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
New Bike Shortage

They are probably a number of posts about this issue, but wanted to take a different approach as I'm new to buying a hybrid for use in Florida. Aren't the bike manufacturers continuing to make new bikes? Going to the various bike manufacturing websites I note how they have none in stock or all sold out. How long does it take to manufacture and replenish their stock? My second thought. One of the reason for the shortage of bikes is because of CV19 and all the people purchasing bikes as it's one of the available forms of exercise. So how many thousands have purchased their bikes and have depleted all the inventory nationwide? But as the manufacturers build new bikes that pool of buyers will not be buying again? They won't buy a new bike every year? Like me, I had a 20 year old GT that needed so much in repairs it was cheaper to buy new. So I'm hoping that sales will be back once the new inventory is available and there won't be the massive pool of bike purchases as what's occurring right now. So when would there be decent deals again? Late summer, early fall?
Old 05-20-20, 08:59 AM
GlennR
On Your Left

Bikes: Trek Emonda SLR, Sram eTap, Zipp 303

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Quoted: 3004 Post(s)
Liked 2,433 Times in 1,187 Posts
Originally Posted by Sunman54
They are probably a number of posts about this issue,
There are.
Aren't the bike manufacturers continuing to make new bikes?
Most, if not all, are made in China and production was shutdown in January.

Most LBS say they won't have new inventory until August.
Old 05-20-20, 09:59 AM
Sunman54

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post