Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

When Were Bikes First Called Gravel Bikes?

Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Old 04-10-21, 04:07 PM
Random11

Bikes: 2019 Specialized Diverge, 2021 Cervelo Caledonia

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked 378 Times in 197 Posts

When was the term "gravel bike" first used? What bike was the first to be called a gravel bike? I'm relatively new to cycling (been riding a bit more than three years) and I know that gravel bikes are a relatively new category, but am curious as to when the term was first used. I'm also aware of gravel races. Did those races pre-date the introduction of gravel bikes? Perhaps gravel bikes were developed specifically to compete in gravel races, but I'm speculating and don't know. Were there gravel bikes ten years ago? Were there gravel races ten years ago? Just curious about the history of the term "gravel" in cycling.
Old 04-10-21, 05:59 PM
mstateglfr 
Sunshine

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Quoted: 10902 Post(s)
Liked 7,393 Times in 4,148 Posts
No idea when it was first used. I'm sure many would like to claim coining the term, but it'd probably be wrong and it really doesn't matter.

Gravel races were around before the current gravel popularity began.
Trans Iowa started in 2004 I think. DK started in 2006. There were gravel races before these, from what ive read. There were gravel races in the 90s.