Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Old MTB Upgrade

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Old MTB Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-20, 05:40 PM
hisho

Bikes: Raleigh Resonator MTB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Old MTB Upgrade

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, and I am a total beginner when it comes to bikes. My father and I are considering upgrading his old Apollo Laser Bike with 26" wheels (it hasn't been used for over 15 years). It has a 5x2 setup, I'm assuming it is a freewheel. We were considering upgrading it to a 1x10 setup but I am not sure if this is possible. I have measured the rear frame which comes up at 130mm, but looking at all the new wheels on eBay, they state that the rear hub is 135mm.

Are we not being realistic when it comes to upgrading this bike, or should we just purchase a 7-speed freewheel, I am not sure if this will even fit?

Thank you for your help!

Hisho

Last edited by hisho; 10-22-20 at 05:46 PM. Reason: forgot wheel size
Likes For hisho:
Old 10-22-20, 06:22 PM
Murray Missile 

Bikes: More than there were awhile ago.

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked 1,263 Times in 603 Posts
From the pics I could find on Google the Laser appears to be a pretty low end bike with 1 Pc. Ashtabula cranks and steel wheels. I'd just make the Laser functional the way it is and ride it or sell it and look for something else. This is from a guy who's put lipstick on a lot of pigs in his day.
Old 10-22-20, 06:35 PM
Russ Roth

Bikes: 2010 Carrera Volans, 2015 C-Dale Trail 2sl, 2017 Raleigh Rush Hour, 2017 Blue Proseccio, 1992 Giant Perigee, 80s Gitane Rallye Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked 1,019 Times in 719 Posts