Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

stringbike

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

stringbike

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-12, 11:01 AM
Patrick Bateman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
stringbike

In this thread, I am going to document how one can build a bicycle using open source software, carbon fiber, and string.
Old 04-19-12, 11:28 AM
Patrick Bateman

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Before I get into the details on this project, I want to give some background and outline my goals for it.

I've been riding for nearly thirty five years. I started riding 'bents about seven years ago. There was a noticeable reduction in speed, which I assumed was the price to pay for comfort.

A couple of years ago I did a very long ride, and found that my average speed was about 8mph. This was completely unacceptable, so I started to learn how to improve my speed.

I ended up buying half a dozen bikes, and learned a lot about going faster. After a couple years, my speeds had nearly doubled. I average about 15mph on my two fastest bikes, but my diamond frame is STILL faster.

So, the goal of this project is to finally get that one last 'push', and craft a bike that's faster than my diamond frame.

I know that 'bent riders and DF riders tend to run in seperate circles, but I honestly have no allegiance to either camp. That's the reason I'm not posting in a recumbent specific forum. I believe the methodology and technology to build a bike is applicable to both, and cross-pollination of ideas pushes the state of the art ahead.