Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Is this a decent frame for a fixed gear conversion?

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-08, 01:38 PM
guaps

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I know very little about building a fixed gear. I've read Sheldon Brown's pages and done some reading here, but I've never done this before. I built my road bike, so I know the basics of newer bikes, but these old frames and components are totally foreign to me. Is this a decent frame to start my fixed gear project? The seller says it's a 1974 Italvega. I really like the lugs and the other chrome work on this thing.
Thanks!!
Old 11-11-08, 01:50 PM
gestalt assault

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
it'll work...
Old 11-11-08, 01:50 PM
santaanna's leg

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The only thing you have to worry about is finding a bb and a headset that fit it. It doesn't seem that Italvega is in Sheldon Brown's database for those, but maybe you can find them somewhere.
Old 11-11-08, 01:57 PM
kassebaum
el oh el

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if it fits you, and can fit 700c wheels, and the dropouts arnt ****ty, then ya it should be fine.
Old 11-11-08, 01:57 PM
extremenergy3

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That is some sweet design-age on there... Gonna cop that idea for when I paint my bike
Old 11-11-08, 02:40 PM
ianjk
:)

Bikes: '07 Pista, '09 Fantom Cross Uno, '8? Miyata, '67 Stingray, '0? Zoo mod trials, Tallbike, Chopper, '73 Schwinn Collegiate, '67 Triumph Chopper, '69 CB350, '58 BSA Spitfire, '73 CB450

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post