Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

Evening crash on daily commute

Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Old 11-27-20, 09:21 AM
Jscotty215
TOW Gunner

Bikes: Masi Gran Corsa, Schwinn Varsity, Trek 3700

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm new to commuting and took it up with the beginning of COVID in March of this year. I live in Southern Connecticut and commute to and from my worksite, about 20 miles round trip, 3-4 commutes a week. I've put down about 1400 miles this year and it wasn't until this last Tuesday night when I took a head-over-heels crash.

[Details: crash took place during evening hours right after sunset, on a busy road, was adjusting headlights from flashing to highbeams, occurred on the shoulder, was able to continue home, rims are ruined, oddly no flats through.]