Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Tools...

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-12, 10:38 PM
Bradleykd

Bikes: '12 Felt Z85, '22 Canyon Neuron, '23 Lynskey Pro 29

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Tools...

I may be beating a dead horse here, but I have a sort of specialized tool question. I've seen a lot of "What all tools do I need?" threads, but they all include basic stuff. I am an industrial machine mechanic/fabricator by trade, so I have a lot of tools. Anything basic such as wrenches, screwdrivers, sockets, allen-keys, torque wrenches, pry-bars and the like, I'm good on. I already built my own repair stand and will build my own truing stand when I need it too. I'm looking for the specialty tools I'll need to do my own bike repairs. I am usually the type of guy that will buy it as I need it, but my parents want to know what I want for Cristmas and I want to give them some ideas. I dont know of anything else I want so i figure this is a good time to build a few tools up.

I plan on doing all regular maintenance/adjustments, as well as building my own wheelset, upgrading components, and that sort of fun/custom stuff on my road bike, and maybe turning an old cheapie frame into a fixie...

Any good bicycle specific tools you can think of I'll need? The only bike specific tool I own right now is a spoke wrench... lol
Old 11-14-12, 10:58 PM
mconlonx

Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Quoted: 7148 Post(s)
Liked 134 Times in 92 Posts
Bottom bracket tools -- cartridge and external bearing

Good set of cable cutters

Cassette lockring and freewheel sockets(?), chain whip, fixed cog lockring spanner or pliers

Chain tool 9 and 10 sp for sure, maybe 11 depending on what you're working on.