Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Knees and Fixed Gears

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Knees and Fixed Gears

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-04, 07:55 AM
NYCpistarider
NYCPistaRider

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Knees and Fixed Gears

I started riding fixed a couple of weeks ago, and I am so addicted I have put a couple hundred miles on my new bike already. But my knees are killing me! Is this normal? I have a break, so I am not doing a lot of resisting, but still, I am worried. Maybe my gearing is too hard (48/16)? Has anyone else experienced this? What should I do?
Old 07-18-04, 08:19 AM
bikeman
Lovin' my Fixie

Bikes: Litespeed Classic, C-Dale MT1000, 80's Trek 770, 2005 Raleigh Rush Hour Pro, Fixed

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I used to ride a fixie to work a lot and noticed that my knees ached occasionally too. I changed my rear cog to a 17 from a 16 and that seemed to help. You don't have as much top speed and you spin faster on the flats, but you are putting less strain on the old knees. It is also easier to get moving from a standing start. Don't forget that even if you do have a front brake you are using your muscles/tendons/ligaments differently by using your legs to put back- pressure on the pedals to slow down.
Old 07-18-04, 08:37 AM
commander_taco
Live to ride

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by NYCpistarider