Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

50YO and racing

Old 01-01-12, 09:28 AM
Butcher

Bikes: 2005 S-Works SR Equipped,1978 Tom Ritchie Road bike, Kuwahara Tandem

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
50YO and racing

One of my goals this year to to start racing. I have spent a couple of years group riding with a team but now it is time to go on a real race. At 50, where would I start, CAT5?, Master 4?. I have no racing experience so when I sign up for a race, what catagory would I choose.
Old 01-01-12, 09:45 AM
alexp247365

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Generally, age doesn't mean anything in cycling. We all started out in category 5 on our racing journey's. I would definitely suggest looking for a skills clinic, as racing on a bike has the potential to introduce situations requiring skills you won't practice as much during training rides (i.e. bumping other riders, holding your line cornering at speed with someone directly on your inside, while someone else is directly on your outside.)

Good luck!
Old 01-01-12, 10:10 AM
gsteinb
out walking the earth

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 912 Post(s)
Liked 752 Times in 342 Posts
Cat 5. Most Likely you can't do any masters racing as a 5 unless you find a specific masters 5 category at a race.
Old 01-01-12, 10:21 AM
carpediemracing 

Bikes: Tsunami road bikes, Dolan DF4 track

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 102 Posts
Everyone is classified in a few different, independent category:
1. Sex (M/F - no transgender classification that I know of; baseline is male)
2. Age (up to 99; baseline is 18-34 years old)
3. Experience (Category; baseline is Cat 5)

Everyone falls into some section of each classification.