Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

Advice for First Century Ride

Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Old 09-11-18, 02:06 PM
MattTheHat 

Bikes: 2021 S-Works Turbo Creo SL, 2020 Specialized Roubaix Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked 4,026 Times in 1,426 Posts

I've been riding for a few months now and have never participated in any kind of bicycle event, not even a group ride. But it sounds like fun. So I signed up for the Waco Wild West 100 coming up on October 20th. To date my longest ride is 75 miles, which was this past Sunday. I felt pretty good and could have ridden further, but had simply run out of time and had to get back home.

I'd like to get a 100 mile ride in before the event, but I'm just not sure I have time to make it happen. Is it silly to think that if I felt pretty good after 75 miles, then riding the additional 25 miles should be fairly realistic? I've looked at the ride map and the terrain appears to be flatter than what I'm riding here.

What do you guys think? Any other words of advice?

-Matt

Last edited by MattTheHat; 09-11-18 at 02:14 PM.
Old 09-11-18, 02:35 PM
rgconner

Bikes: Curtis Inglis Road, 80's Sekai touring fixie

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Eat and drink on the bike. As much as possible.

Remember to eat for recovery afterwards. I find the following day or two worse than the event itself.

In fact, I have one coming up in Oct and have scheduled an appointment with the Massage Therapist for the day after the event.
Old 09-11-18, 02:49 PM
pdlamb