Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Need new bike, advice appreciated

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Old 09-22-19, 10:47 AM
ml9

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi, I would appreciate any advice anyone could give me in my search for a new bike. I currently have a Liv Alight 3 (3x7) that I have not taken care of, unfortunately. The chain is a bit rusted as is the cassette. Instead of trying to get everything fixed, I thought that I would just start fresh with a new bike.

I’ve been riding for about 3 years, mostly rides is the 18-49 mile range on weekends and mostly on the bike path at the beach and the poorly paved roads to get to the beach. I haven’t quite mastered the gear system, so I usually stay in one gear (the highest one, usually) the entire ride, unless the I come upon an incline, then I will shift to a lower gear. After riding for 3 years, I should probably know better, but embarrassingly, I don’t.

I’ve been looking at the following 3 bikes, but if anyone has any other suggestions, I’d be open to those as well.
Thank you.

Cannondale Quick Disc 3 or 4 (2019)

Cannondale Althea 1 (2019)

GHOST Square Cross 4.8 Step-Through Women's Bike - 2018
Old 09-22-19, 11:11 AM
DorkDisk

Bikes: Ritchey Swiss Cross | Teesdale Kona Hot | Haro Extreme | Specialized Stumpjumper Comp | Cannondale F1000 | Shogun 1000 | Cannondale M500 | Norco Charger | Marin Muirwoods 29er | Shogun Kaze | Breezer Lightning

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 576 Post(s)
Liked 990 Times in 484 Posts
Fix the old bike. Learn to ride it.
Likes For DorkDisk:
Old 09-22-19, 11:48 AM
ml9

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by DorkDisk
Fix the old bike. Learn to ride it.
That’s definitely an option, thank you.
Old 09-23-19, 06:01 AM
AU Tiger

Bikes: 2018 Fuji Jari 1.5, 2017 Kona Fire Mountain

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)