Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Anyone switch from a Surly to classic or vintage steel bike?

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-15, 12:28 PM
VictorKnox

Bikes: Rivendell Appaloosa, Rivendell Sam Hillborne, Surly Pugsley, Surly Big Dummy

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Right now I have two main bikes, a Surly Cross Check and a Surly Troll. My CC is set up as a long distance road bike with fenders and frame bag. I've ridden two centuries on it and countless other rides. The problem is that I've been fighting fit issues with it since I bought it in 2012. Because of this, I'm thinking of selling it and looking for a vintage steel road bike, probably a Trek with Reynolds 531 frame. Two reasons: I used to have a 1985 Trek 420, so I'm sure of the fit, and because I've read a lot about how much better the higher end frames ride.

So my question is: Is that last part true? Has anyone here started on a Surly Cross Check/Pacer/Straggler/Steamroller/LHT and switched to a higher end vintage steel bike? Or from an Ogre/Troll to a vintage MTB? If so, what is your experience? Is the ride better, or is there not much difference between say, Reynolds 531 and Surly's 4130?

I understand that bike fit and the components/set up influence the feel of a bike, and I understand that 531 is just Reynolds name for their 4130 cromoly steel, so I'm just wondering about people's opinions who have ridden both. Feel free to chime in about other types/brands of steel as well: Columbus, Tange, etc. My focus on the 531 is just because I'm mainly looking at late 80's Treks.

Thanks!
Old 07-17-15, 12:38 PM
Pemetic2006

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 10 Posts