Search
Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Cheap Zwift Setup help

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-21, 10:47 PM
newuser1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Cheap Zwift Setup help

Hi All,

I am new to the world of cycling and was looking for suggestions with a Zwift setup. I am a college student and have a 2018 Norco Indie 3 (I know it is not a road cycle, but the prices are too high to justify) and am looking to get a bike trainer that is compatible with Zwift (and as inexpensive as possible). I have a background in rowing and am familiar with some cardio training and think that Zwift sounds like it can be fun. I don't mind having to buy a separate sensor but would like suggestions.

From what I understand, I think a fluid trainer with various ANT+ sensors is what I will need. I was hoping some experienced cyclists could give their view on how to create a usable setup given my bike and suggestions for which products to buy (I am not someone who is looking to buy the $1000 TacX or a Peloton).

Thanks,
newuser1
Old 01-05-21, 11:13 PM
caloso

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 2952 Post(s)
Liked 3,106 Times in 1,417 Posts
I have a “dumb” trainer (Kinetic Road Machine) that estimates power and transmits via BT. It needs to be calibrated, but when it is, it’s very close to my power meter. Good and inexpensive especially if you can find one used. Also look at the “supported” list of trainers on the zwift website. https://support.zwift.com/en_us/whee...ners-r1B5nQWxS
You may need to get a wheel speed sensor.
Old 01-05-21, 11:55 PM
Cyclist0108
Occam's Rotor

Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked 2,331 Times in 1,164 Posts