Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Winter Cycling
Reload this Page >

Cold Toes.... 1st year commuting in the cold

Search
Notices
Winter Cycling Don't let snow and ice discourage you this winter. The key element to year-round cycling is proper attire! Check out this winter cycling forum to chat with other ice bike fanatics.

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-11, 06:32 AM
chefisaac

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hello all. This is my first year commuting in the cold. Actually, this morning was my third morning commuting by bike. I love it.

But my toes being cold really does suck. This morning it was 26 degrees out and my commute is 11 miles one way which is about 50 minutes for me on my mtn bike.

I do have clipless pedals and would like to keep them (versus going to platform).

My question is: how do you all keep your toes warm? Mine get so cold. I tried a pair of wool socks, a bag over them and this morning I tried plastic wrap over the wool socks but still cold.

Also. what are you all wearing for the power half of your body?
Old 12-12-11, 06:44 AM
BeastRider
Beast Rider

Bikes: Trek Transport

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Layers, layers, layers. And if you are still "clipping in" that could be a part of the problem. I use platforms all year long and I don't "clip in"....EVER. But I have seen the shoes and, frankly, they don't appear to be winter worthy.

As for me I wear insulated work boots with multiple pairs of socks and, sometimes, a plastic bag in between my barefoot and the socks to help keep the warmth in. When I lived in the midwest and would often ride in below zero weather I would wear Mukluks.
Old 12-12-11, 07:49 AM
Stealthammer
Still spinnin'.....