Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Bike computers

Old 07-15-19, 07:51 PM
  #1  
WWS
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lambertville, NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bike computers

Anyone know of a brand of bike computer that when changing the battery the wheel size code and accumulated mileage will not be lost?

Last edited by WWS; 07-15-19 at 07:53 PM. Reason: spelling
WWS is offline  
Old 07-15-19, 09:20 PM
  #2  
GamblerGORD53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Elevation 666m Edmonton Canada
Posts: 1,371

Bikes: 2013 Custom SA5w / Rohloff Tourster

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 11 Posts
My Sigma wired computers are very good. They have had a memory for 8 or 10 years I think.
I've been using 1 on each wheel of my tour bike. LOL BC1412 and 1612.
GamblerGORD53 is offline  
Old 07-16-19, 05:48 AM
  #3  
Phil_gretz
Journeyman Bike Commuter
 
Phil_gretz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 5,390

Bikes: '71 Jeunet 640, '74 Fuji Special Road Racer, '79 Peugeot PXN10LE, '88 Fuji Saratoga, '13 Motobecane Fantom29 HT, '16 Motobecane Turino Pro Disc, '16 Motobecane Gran Premio Elite, '18 Velobuild VB-R-022

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked 264 Times in 151 Posts
Originally Posted by WWS View Post
Anyone know of a brand of bike computer that when changing the battery the wheel size code and accumulated mileage will not be lost?
Change batteries on a schedule, not just when they fail.

Keep a record of the wheel diameter entry, write it in the margin of the owner's installation manual.

Just prior to removing the current battery, scroll through and record the odometer readings of interest.

Many (most?) bike computers allow you to enter an initial value for odometer. Transfer your old numbers there. Check your owner's manual.
Phil_gretz is offline  
Likes For Phil_gretz:
Old 07-16-19, 06:48 AM
  #4  
DomaneS5
Fredly Fredster
 
DomaneS5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 596

Bikes: Trek Domane S5, Trek 1.1c, Motobecane Omni Strada Comp, Trek X-Caliber 6

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 3 Posts
I use Cateye bike computers and I keep a log of Odometer settings on a spreadsheet. So when the battery craps out on either the computer or the sensor on the fork... I usually have accurate records.
DomaneS5 is offline  
Old 07-20-19, 07:12 PM
  #5  
WWS
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lambertville, NJ
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Settled on the Cateye Padrone CC-PA100W...programmable odometer.
Works well.
WWS is offline  
Old 07-20-19, 07:43 PM
  #6  
UniChris
Senior Member
 
UniChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 964

Bikes: 36" Unicycle

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked 106 Times in 86 Posts
Although most computers will let you enter a starting odometer at a certain point, why bother? Tracking your overall history is what something like Strava is good at.

In terms of what a simple computer does do well - showing current speed and current ride distance - it took some time to get the wheel size dialed in to a number that I think is fairly accurate, but under estimates just enough of a hair that I have no doubt that when it says I rode X miles, I really did (unlike Strava, which seems to often be a few percent high).

If there's any doubt about retaining the wheel size number, take a picture of the setup screen with your phone and email it to yourself with that as the title.

Sometimes on longer rides I've used the odometer as the actual ride meter, and reset the current ride meter to track the current part so that my reading matches up with mile posts. Other times, especially where the numbers are round anyway, I just do the mental math, it's not a bad thing to occupy the mind while pedaling along.

But if you do want cumulative odometer, just take a picture of it every now and then, especially at the end of key rides.
UniChris is offline  
Old 07-20-19, 09:09 PM
  #7  
drlogik 
Senior Member
 
drlogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,065

Bikes: '87-ish Pinarello Montello; '89 Nishiki Ariel; '85 Raleigh Wyoming, '16 Wabi Special, '16 Wabi Classic, '14 Kona Cinder Cone

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 19 Times in 11 Posts
Not that I know of. That's one of the reasons I bought a Garmin Fenix 5 watch. It is the only bike computer I need and it syncs with Strava. Expensive? Yes, maybe but how much is a really good bike computer. You can get used or refurbished Fenix 3 HR's for about the same price as a top-end bike computer.

The separate cadence and speed sensors are not required but provide more accurate on-the-fly readings. I've been using the Fenix for about three years now and it is fantastic. Check them out.
drlogik is offline  
Old 07-23-19, 03:34 PM
  #8  
DenBoy
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My little cheapy TEMPO from Nashbar retains the odometer value when changing the battery (as well as the wheel diameter).
DenBoy is offline  
Old 07-24-19, 10:12 AM
  #9  
pdlamb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northern Deep South
Posts: 5,570

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1091 Post(s)
Liked 141 Times in 104 Posts
IIRC most of the Sigma computers would hold odometer and wheel size. They didn't do too well in rain, so I went to Cateye.

Cateye seems to give you a choice; either their computers retain memory while you change the battery but you can't adjust the odometer (Astrale), or you can adjust the odometer and it drops memory when you change the battery (Strada). For the life of me, I can't figure out why one model can't do both. On the positive side, they've all come through downpours and still work.
pdlamb is offline  
Old 07-24-19, 11:32 AM
  #10  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 24,079

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3430 Post(s)
Liked 447 Times in 328 Posts
can't help with that specific question. I use cheap, but easy to use, computers. the wheel factor is lost every time I reset them for each ride. since I use 2 or more bikes with 3 dif sets of tires depending on season, maybe this strategy will help you. I write down the wheel factors where I won't lose them. basically a giant zip lock freezer bag w/ computers, batteries & manuals. I let it breath (from time to time) tho cuz I think batteries need to breath. I keep that bag with my bike stuff. at 1st I was annoyed that I had to reset the wheel factor after each ride but I got used to it. so changing a battery is no worse, for me
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 07-24-19, 11:40 AM
  #11  
indyfabz
Senior Member
 
indyfabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 24,723
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10027 Post(s)
Liked 1,477 Times in 888 Posts
Originally Posted by Phil_gretz View Post
Change batteries on a schedule, not just when they fail.
IKR. My computer battery died after the first day of last month's two-week tour. By the time I got somewhere that was "civilized" enough to have a battery source there were only three days left in the trip, so I didn't bother.
indyfabz is offline  
Old 07-26-19, 11:13 PM
  #12  
Teamprovicycle
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Providence
Posts: 733

Bikes: Specialized tarmac sl2 giant tcx zero

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The only bike comp I've used seriously , is the lezyne micro color it's a tiny gps unit with programmable profiles and recharable batchery
Teamprovicycle is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Roadwanderer
General Cycling Discussion
45
03-31-18 02:56 PM
09box
Bicycle Mechanics
13
06-15-17 02:12 PM
MuddKatt
General Cycling Discussion
8
08-07-12 10:00 PM
TimmyT
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
1
01-22-12 04:02 PM
aracauna
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
5
09-02-11 11:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.