Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

MTB Vacation

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

MTB Vacation

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-19, 08:02 AM
spinconn

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked 41 Times in 25 Posts
MTB Vacation

I am thinking about taking a week and going on a vacation to a place with great mountain biking. The whole point will be to bike as many trail miles as I can. My first thought is Moab.

However, I am new to mountain biking and at my age will possibly never get beyond beginner status and it occurs to me that Moab and other MTB centers may be mostly for advanced riders.

Anyone know if Moab has a large number of MTB trail miles suitable for a rookie? If not Moab, maybe some other locale?
Old 10-23-19, 08:28 AM
LS1BadBird

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
I went to Moab before I even had a mountain bike and took my hybrid on some entry-level trails. It was still a blast. I think there's a huge variety there and you'll have a good time regardless of your level.
Old 10-23-19, 09:30 AM
Mountain Mitch

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix Exp ert Road and Specialized Stump Jumper FS Mountain; De Vinci Caribou touring, Intense Tracer T275c, Cramerotti, Specialized Allez, Condor

Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked 92 Times in 56 Posts
Yes, Moab has lots of trails at every level. In particular check out the three areas north of town off Highway 191: Klondike Bluffs, Sovereign and, especially, Moab Brands. You’ll have a great time! If the weather is still moderate you could also go up to Dead Horse SP, about half an hour away, and ride the trails there. They are mostly green - or a very light blue