Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Newbie needing help choosing a budget folder

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-15, 04:55 PM
ConureDelSol

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi there, I'm pretty new to folding bikes and have little knowledge of bike mechanics in general (though I pick hands-on things up quickly so I intend to learn.) I'm very small: 5' 1", 140lbs. I've recently moved with my family to a smaller townhouse which happens to be within biking distance of quite a bit. It's becoming apparent that my current bike, a hybrid giant, isn't going to fit in my home and be easy to take in and out. In fact, it's currently in storage across town. So, with my Entry-level job in mind, I'm looking at a budget of roughly $200. I've been doing a little research and am stuck between a few options:

The Citizen Bike Tokyo at about $250 with shipping and the options I'd like.

The Walmart Genesis Folding Bike at $200 not including any bike rack or seat replacement.

The Green Zone Premium Edition 16 currently on sale for about $200 with shipping. It includes a comfort seat, bike bag, fenders, bike rack and bottle holder in the price and weighs only 24lbs.

The best value SOUNDS like the GZ but I can't seem to find mention of this bike anywhere. Does anyone know if this bike is of a decent quality?

Also, which bike might be the most beginner-friendly (requires the least setup, doesn't need a bunch of modifications, etc.)?
Old 03-09-15, 06:31 PM
kurtp13

Bikes: Trek 820, Cannondale F500 with Trekking bars and road tires, Bianchi Alfana, Panasonic PCI "Les Maillots", Cannondale M1000 Tandem, Schwinn Johnny, Trek Lime, 1964 Armstrong, 1962 Raleigh Gazelle, 1964 AMF Hercules, Brooklyn Cruiser Driggs

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts