Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

I need a rack to fit my Giant Contend.

General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

I need a rack to fit my Giant Contend.

Old 05-15-19, 03:43 PM
  #1  
79SchwinnWS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
79SchwinnWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I need a rack to fit my Giant Contend.

My bike has mounting holes on the bottom of the frame but none up near the seat,any recommendations for a rack that will fit somehow,my bike doesn't have disc brake.
79SchwinnWS is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 07:15 PM
  #2  
Kapusta
Cyclochondriac
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 879 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 27 Posts
Originally Posted by 79SchwinnWS View Post
My bike has mounting holes on the bottom of the frame but none up near the seat,any recommendations for a rack that will fit somehow,my bike doesn't have disc brake.
What kind of brakes do you have?
Kapusta is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 07:55 PM
  #3  
Aubergine 
Bad example
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Seattle and Reims
Posts: 2,948
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 771 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Consider using rubber-covered p clamps to attach a rack to the forks. There is little weight on those connections, so the p clamps work well. You can find them at any decent hardware store.
__________________
Keeping Seattle’s bike shops in business since 1978
Aubergine is offline  
Old 05-16-19, 12:33 PM
  #4  
79SchwinnWS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
79SchwinnWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Kapusta View Post
What kind of brakes do you have?
It has the standard looking caliper brakes.
79SchwinnWS is offline  
Old 05-16-19, 12:41 PM
  #5  
Kapusta
Cyclochondriac
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 879 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 27 Posts
Originally Posted by 79SchwinnWS View Post
It has the standard looking caliper brakes.
I use one of these (I think it is called a brake bridge adapter):
Kapusta is offline  
Old 05-16-19, 12:55 PM
  #6  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 22,676

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked 49 Times in 44 Posts
Originally Posted by Kapusta View Post
I use one of these (I think it is called a brake bridge adapter):
really? even tho you have the seat stay braze-ons for the rack?
rumrunn6 is offline  
Likes For rumrunn6:
Old 05-16-19, 01:00 PM
  #7  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 22,676

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked 49 Times in 44 Posts
don't think it's the rack you need to shop for so much as a way to attach it. something like this is being talked about in another thread

https://www.amazon.com/M-Wave-34-9-S...ateway&sr=8-39

https://www.amazon.com/Axiom-Trekk-M...ateway&sr=8-35

https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Alloy...gateway&sr=8-6
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 05-16-19, 01:02 PM
  #8  
fietsbob 
coprolite
 
fietsbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 41,462

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6718 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 136 Times in 115 Posts
https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/bikes-contend

you can buy a different seat post band clamp with additional threaded holes for the rack struts

and use The QR Skewer itself for the bottom mount..
fietsbob is online now  
Old 05-16-19, 01:22 PM
  #9  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 22,676

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked 49 Times in 44 Posts
but sometimes, you have to just grab wut you got around the basement, right?

rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 05-16-19, 02:00 PM
  #10  
Kapusta
Cyclochondriac
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 879 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 27 Posts
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
really? even tho you have the seat stay braze-ons for the rack?
Yeah, unfortunately Salsa kind of screwed up the placement of those braze-ons, and the brake caliper blocks one of the rack stays.
Kapusta is offline  
Likes For Kapusta:
Old 05-16-19, 02:45 PM
  #11  
79SchwinnWS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
79SchwinnWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
don't think it's the rack you need to shop for so much as a way to attach it. something like this is being talked about in another thread

https://www.amazon.com/M-Wave-34-9-S...ateway&sr=8-39

https://www.amazon.com/Axiom-Trekk-M...ateway&sr=8-35

https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Alloy...gateway&sr=8-6
Thats probably the way I will go.
79SchwinnWS is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.