Search
Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

ItalVega Help

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-18, 01:57 PM
RogueJay

Bikes: Colnago ACR

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
ItalVega Help

Okay, so I'm trying to post this again. I'm a newbie so if it's redundant, I apologize. I'm also not going to add pictures (they're in my album is interested) as I think this was the reason I was unable to post.

A client gave me an ItalVega but it is lacking identifying decals. Based upon research I've done, I think I have an early 1970 Nuovo Record (it's the exact same white frame as in the 4-3-11 post entitled "'Italian' Univega.") The serial number on mine looks to be "Star" 375900 "Star."

I'd love to find out exactly what year it is, worth, and model.

If this posts, I'll try to add pictures as I know this is the only way anyone can help me with this.
Thanks in advance!
Old 10-02-18, 02:16 PM
juvela

Mentioned: 415 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3803 Post(s)
Liked 3,324 Times in 2,170 Posts
-----

If the "Star" is six pointed it could have been placed by a licensing agency.

The first two years or so they came through with a headplate made from stamped sheet.

Beginning about year three they came through with a moulded 3D headplate.

The NR model had a frame of three-tube Columbus DB. It had Campag 1010 droputs but stamped fork ends. Chrome head lugs, fork crown and half blades & stays.

Fork crown is full sloping. There should be a small gold script transfer on the chainstay reading "Designed by Torresini."

Chainset was Stronglight 49D. Gear ensemble was Campag NR. Brakeset Universal 61. 3TTT Record stem & bar set. Sheffield pedals. Steel saddle pillar. Wheels were FIAMME Red label tubulars w/Campag NT (or Gnutti) hubs.

​​​​​​​-----