Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Finally went to a doctor

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Finally went to a doctor

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-14, 08:06 AM
irwin7638

Bikes: Sam, The Hunq and that Old Guy, Soma Buena Vista, Giant Talon 2, Brompton

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked 106 Times in 48 Posts
Finally went to a doctor

It's not as bad as it sounds. I've been cycling almost constantly for 42 years. I've been telling people for years that I feel the same as I did in my thirties. I never really have any health problems so it's been easy to put off going in for routine, let alone detailed check ups. I finally scheduled the full routine, poke, probe show and tell, including blood profiles, PSA, Colonoscopy and whatever else.
All the numbers are exactly as they were the past 30 years. I have 6% more bodyfat than I care for, but that's below average for a 30 year old and waaaay low on the optimal level for a 62 year old. Just a dirty old man trapped in the body of a thirty year old.
It's not hereditary. I have two cousins who are each within a year or so. When we were younger, we looked enough alike that people thought we were triplets. They are now skinny legged, pot bellied, grey haired old men who sit around talking about their medical problems and treatments. I am not. I am the one who has had totally sedentary office jobs throughout my career and the only lifestyle difference has been cycling (commuting/touring) and weight training.

Marc
Old 11-22-14, 08:15 AM
OldTryGuy

Bikes: Day6 Semi Recumbent "FIREBALL", 1981 Custom Touring Paramount, 1983 Road Paramount, 2013 Giant Propel Advanced SL3, 2018 Specialized Red Roubaix Expert mech., 2002 Magna 7sp hybrid, 1976 Bassett Racing 45sp Cruiser

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)