Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Is Dynamo hub supposed to be clicky when rotate?

Search
Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-17, 01:23 PM
kim43235

Bikes: R4000si, 2013 CAADX

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm new to dynamo hubs and have a question regarding my recent buy. I bought this dynamo hub and wheel off ebay. When I rotate the wheel by holding with hand, I feel a clicky feel instead of a smooth turn/movement. I emailed to the seller and he recommended to put it on the fork to try it. I did that and it's bit less noticeable but still I can feel its clickiness especially when it's about to stop turning. I can feel in the frame too when it's spinning fast. I do expect some drags but I thought dynamo hubs are frictionless which means it turns freely and smooth.

Is my dynamo hub something wrong? Do all dynamo hubs do this or just mine does it? Is there frictionless dynamo hub?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
dynamoHub.jpg (94.6 KB, 164 views)
File Type: jpg
dynamoHub2.jpg (97.7 KB, 165 views)
Old 01-03-17, 02:37 PM
wschruba

Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 48 Posts
You are feeling the coil passing the poles of the magnets embedded in the hub shell. It is hard to say with 100% certainty without seeing it in person (adjusting play out of cup-and-cone versions is not as straight forward, due to the magnets), but that operation is normal, even in high dollar hubs.
Old 01-03-17, 02:50 PM
pdlamb

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked 1,934 Times in 1,213 Posts