Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling
Reload this Page >

Cervelo C3 for almost 50% off. But is it good for my needs?

Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Old 01-29-20, 05:15 PM
aabb

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 8 Posts

Hey all, just came back from my LBS. They had a 2019 Cervelo C3 discounted from $4999 (CAD) to $2999. Ultegra, carbon, and all of that (sorry, im new to cycling). The other bike I was looking at was the Domane SL 5 (Shimano 105) for $3799. I intend to do mostly roads, with a good deal of gravel along the way (nothing too crazy) - this is why I am leaning towards the Domane SL 5 due to the larger tire clearance.

But I am tempted by the C3 as it seems like a BIG discount. He did tell me however that the Domane is more aero and has the Isospeed (the C3 doesn't have any sort of comparable technology, as he told me the C3 relies on geometry and what not for the endurance and comfort). He also said Isospeed does actually work (I thought it was a gimmick at first).

I know fitting is what matters most, but assuming both fit fine, is there one bike I should be leaning towards?

Also, I thought most shops do the fancy dynamic fit for free if you get a bike from them, but those guys want to charge me $200.

Thanks again friends
Old 01-29-20, 06:25 PM
DrIsotope
Non omnino gravis

Bikes: Nekobasu, Pandicorn, Lakitu

Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Quoted: 4905 Post(s)
Liked 1,731 Times in 958 Posts