Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Water bottle boss question

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-20, 07:22 AM
Tandem Tom

Bikes: 1992 Serotta Colorado II,Co-Motion Speedster, Giant Escape Hybrid, 1977 Schwinn Super Le Tour

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 85 Posts

As a newbie I am starting to practice with braze-ons on an old frame before going to my new one.
​​When using a reinforcement, I like the look!, do you apply the silver only at the point where the boss meets the reinforcement or is it necessary to apply at the edge of the reinforcement?
Thanks!
Old 02-28-20, 07:52 AM
8aaron8

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 26 Times in 14 Posts
Apply it to where the boss meets the reinforcement, you can then pull the silver to the edges of the reinforcement plate. Be careful not to overflow this joint as those reinforcement plates are hard to clean up.
Likes For 8aaron8:
Old 02-28-20, 09:32 AM
Doug Fattic 
framebuilder

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked 1,914 Times in 655 Posts