Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Recommend a bike

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-11, 05:54 PM
Durendal

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Recommend a bike

Let me preface this with the statement that I am a newbie to the biking scene and have little to no knowledge of bikes themselves. I know how to ride a bike, but that's about it.

Anyway I'm thinking about buying a bike to be used mostly for commuting to and from work (roughly 8 miles each way) and some trails on weekends. Thought I'd come to the experts to ask for advice on what types and brands of bikes to look into as well as what I can expect in certain price ranges. My main criterion are that it be a reliable bike and I would like the top gear to be heavy resistance, other than that any guidance would be appreciated. Was thinking of spending $150-300 so anything in that price range would be welcome, or if you think I can find something for less to fit my needs I'd be glad to hear that too.

Thanks for any and all help here folks.
Old 03-30-11, 06:12 AM
1ply
Plays in Traffic

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You have a contradiction in terms here - you're asking for a reliable bike for up to $300.

In my experience, if you're planning to use this bike daily for 16 miles a day you should probably spend more than $300. It sounds expensive at first but if you find a good bike shop, spend say 5-600 on a bike (I know it's a lot) but get after sale service it's well worth the money.