Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recreational & Family
Reload this Page >

Looking to buy my first bike

Search
Notices
Recreational & Family Ride just to ride? Have a family and want to get them into cycling? Drop in here to discuss recreational and family cycling issues.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-13, 07:50 PM
penduboy

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

At last i decided to buy a bike. I am totally new to this and want some expert advise here. I don't want to spend too much on my first bike....but if I like this hobby, I will upgrade and buy a decent bike later on but for the time being, I just need a starter bike.

I am looking for a bike to commute to my work which is about 6 blocks from my home and on weekend ride with my daughter in trails near my house.

Please help.

thanks, Pendu
Old 05-25-13, 08:11 PM
bikemig 

Bikes: A bunch of old bikes and a few new ones

Mentioned: 178 Post(s)
Quoted: 5888 Post(s)
Liked 3,472 Times in 2,079 Posts
The easiest is to figure out your budget and then go to your LBS for some advice. They'll probably try to sell you some sort of hybrid/commuter type bike which seems about right for your purposes. Just get something with cushy tires and saddle for your commute and the weekend and a good pump. You need to keep those tires inflated to the proper PSI.
Old 05-26-13, 05:07 AM
BruceHankins

Bikes: Shogun 400 ('83), Kuwahara Newport

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yard sales and careful craigslist hunting. Read up in the C&V section and find a decent light weight bike from the 70s, 80s, 90s really cheap at a yard sale. Plan on spending an additional $100-$200 depending on labor/parts for a full tune up and such at your LBS if you can't to the work yourself. But if your a patient you can end up with a very nice bike for around $150.
Old 05-26-13, 12:32 PM
Spld cyclist

Bikes: 2012 Motobecane Fantom CXX, 2012 Motobecane Fantom CX, 1997 Bianchi Nyala, 200? Burley Rock 'n Roll