Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Beginner Bicycle Gear

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Beginner Bicycle Gear

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-16, 01:22 PM
Trinox
Photographer

Bikes: Trek Multitrack 730

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Beginner Bicycle Gear

Hello, I am new to Cycling and I am looking for some gear to start out with, I have a few essentials like wicking shirts, and bike shorts. I am looking for a decent helmet, maybe a nice set of gloves, or a good place to get gear that is not overly expensive - looking for budget as much as I can here. Anything else you guys might suggest I am open to it. Glasses, etc. I also need some shoes, my bike has foot holder things (I will attach a photo so you know what I am talking about) - Since I have those should I maybe just get normal comfortable tennis shoes, or get some bike shoes, I don't really know the difference and perks of bike shoes, but if they are a necessity then I will be open to your suggestions.

Old 11-08-16, 01:30 PM
fietsbob
Banned

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,355 Times in 862 Posts
Gloves so if you crash you wont scrape up your Hands ..

Helmet To absorb head impacts .

shoes and pedals are a contentious subject between devotees and those who dont care.

I have fancy pedal system stuff but I never use it around here.

some shoes with a smooth sole will slip in easier to the toe clip thingies.
add some stiff arch support insoles and tennis shoes can be a good Bike shoe.

You could get platform pedals and not need the TC at all.

'/,
Old 11-08-16, 01:32 PM
Trinox
Photographer

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by fietsbob