Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Road bike tour in Mexico?

Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Old 07-31-14, 08:17 AM
Figman5000

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Does anyone know of a group that organizes road bike tours in Mexico? I'm looking for a multi-day tour with luggage transfer, preferably in Oaxaca or Chiapas.

(Sorry, I'm not a true touring type, but I figure somebody here might be able to help.)
Old 07-31-14, 01:37 PM
axolotl

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked 120 Times in 88 Posts
I've seen the following outfit in Oaxaca recommended in guidebooks. I have no personal experience with them.

Bicicletas Pedro Martínez

I've toured elsewhere in Mexico on my own. I've been to Oaxaca a couple of times and have hiked in the Sierra Norte but not biked in the state. I did several daytrips on my bike in Chiapas. If I were to return to go touring in Mexico, I would choose Oaxaca over Chiapas. Culturally, I found it to be the most interesting state in Mexico. I'm not sure about the road network in the hinterlands of Oaxaca, but I found the riding not that great in Chiapas around San Cristobal. The roads were in worse shape than in other parts of Mexico, and the grading was bad on minor roads near San Cristobal. I think that some parts of the state near Lagos de Montebello National Park (along the Guatemalan border) might be better. The only road to get there from San Cristobal is the PanAm highway, and I actually turned back because I felt the road was dangerous as I was climbing out of San Cristobal (lots of traffic and no shoulder).
Old 07-31-14, 05:04 PM
Figman5000

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts