Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Alloy wheels on a carbon bike

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-18, 08:41 PM
Brad Bike
That guy

Bikes: 2012 Felt FC build

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

So I'm a novice rider who got an amazing deal on a bike built on a 2016 Felt FC 1 frame. It has carbon everything, including the wheels, which are an older set of Novatec 52mm tubulars. The tires are great quality (relatively new Continental GP 4K tires with low miles), but I really don't want the hassle of riding tubulars, and the tires are narrower than I'd like at 22mm.

As a relative newbie, I'm having trouble justifying spending $1K or more on a new set of carbon clinchers. A couple of veteran riders have told me just to get a pair of aluminum wheels and I probably won't be able to tell much difference. But my LBS is telling me I'd regret not investing in carbon, especially from a ride comfort standpoint. (Although my first bike was an all-aluminum entry level Trek, and I never felt uncomfortable riding it.)

So what do you guys think? Would you feel weird putting a pair of Campy Zondo C17's (or similar alloy set) on this bike?
Old 05-31-18, 08:45 PM
afham07

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't see any problem or concern any alloy wheels on the carbon bike but at least a mid range of alloy wheel for better performance. Not those 2kg wheels without tyres.
Old 05-31-18, 08:53 PM
WhyFi

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 354 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20810 Post(s)