Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

There is hope

Old 09-29-18, 09:12 PM
Pmangelos

Bikes: BH Quartz, Bianchi S9 Matta

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There is hope

Hello All, first off sorry for the long post. I've been a lurker on this board for a while but now I am going to share my story with the hope that it will help others. I imagine like a lot of you I've always been a big guy. I'm 42 years old 6' tall and at this time last year weighed 292 pounds. I graduated high school weighing north of 200 pounds and wearing 38" jeans, and have never been athletic, I played football for one year when I was about 12 and had to weigh in before every game to make sure I'd be allowed to play, I was always at the max weight allowed for the league. I never broke the 10 minute barrier running the mile at school, you get the drift, I've always had a weight problem. Last October some buddies and I were on a trip together and we decided to have a 12 month weight loss challenge. I started to watch what I eat, mainly watching calories, making wiser decisions in general on food, and I got myself a gym membership. I started on a variety of cardio machines that were terribly boring but pretty effective, I lost better than 40 pounds by February, but I hated the gym, and at that point I was far ahead of all of the guys in my weight loss challenge and I was losing incentive. So I came up with a new plan, I chose to incentivize myself with something that I love with hopes of making this more permanent. I love to travel, and my favorite place to go is to Greece, specifically the Island of Crete, where my family is from. Wel