Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Marin San Rafael 2 or Trek Dual Sport 2?

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Old 06-14-19, 11:18 AM
uriwvu

Bikes: Old: 1968 Schwinn Stingray, 1974 Raleigh 3 Speed, 1978 Kabuki 10 speed, 1997 GT Ricochet. New: 2021Verve 3 Disc2021 Trek FX1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 7 Posts

Newbie here looking for advice/recommendations in purchasing my first hybrid bike. Well past the mountain biking phase of my life, now in my mid-50s, my main purpose is recreational riding with my young daughters and fitness rides for myself. Primarily pavement riding, but I want the ability to go off road a bit, gravel/dirt paths in parks, beach, etc. I’ve done research, visited multiple bike shops, and I’m down to the Marin San Rafael 2 and Trek Dual Sport 2.

I’ve tested both out at bike shops (Trek store, and local independent bike shop for the Marin) and they both are great rides and “fit” me fine. Bonus to the local bike shop selling the Marin: they offer lifetime tuneups for all bikes purchased at their store.

Similarly priced, I appreciate any advice and recommendations to help me finalize my choice. Thanks

Last edited by uriwvu; 06-14-19 at 11:29 AM.
Old 06-14-19, 11:58 AM
katsup

Bikes: 1995 ParkPre Pro 825 2021 Soma Fog Cutter v2 and 2021 Cotic SolarisMax

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked 560 Times in 318 Posts
Marin San Rafael 2
Trek Dual Sport 2

The Marin does have a lower MSRP and coming with tuneups seems like a better deal. Trek has a lifetime warranty on their frame, not sure about Marin. The Marin sounds like a better deal with the lifetime tuneups, assuming the shop is not far from home.