Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

RFLKT is going away

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

RFLKT is going away

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-16, 06:46 AM
GravelMN

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
RFLKT is going away

Well, enough is enough. I have been using the Wahoo RFLKT for a few months now and while I like the idea of an inexpensive bluetooth display that shows the ride data from your phone, it has failed me enough times that I'm going back to my simple wireless computer and keeping my phone tracking separate.

If the connection is ever lost between the phone and the RFLKT there is a better than 50/50 chance that you will not be able to reconnect on the fly. If you don't stop and go through the steps to reconnect, you have that same 50/50 chance that whatever app you are using (I've tried Strava, Ride with GPS and Wahoo) will also stop working.

This has happened on about 1/3 of my rides. When solo it's not a big deal, but on a group ride or on training ride for time, I will not stop just to fix a phone/display problem, so I loose current and recorded data until I come to a rest stop.

Reasons for loss of connection included:

• Electrical interference such as power lines or going through a tunnel or across a metal bridge. It doesn't matter if the lost connection is phone service or bluetooth to the display, the results are the same.
  • Poor signal strength to the phone. This happens when I'm doing hills out in the boonies. Good signal on top of the hills, crappy signal at the bottom.