Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Recovery for the legs

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Recovery for the legs

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-11, 09:10 AM
marc m

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Recovery for the legs

I'm having a hard time with leg recovery. I run 4 miles (morning) and ride 30-40 miles (night) every day, and train legs with weights once a week with my weight training schedule. But I notice that I'm always sore... quads, hams, calves.
I wonder if I should run/cycle every other day. Problem is, I've been doing this for a little over a couple of years and I love it (addicted?) and despite the soreness, find it hard to stop. I thought my body would have adapted to this routine by now.
Old 09-09-11, 10:25 AM
PatW

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Gosh, it sounds as if you are not giving yourself time to recover. Many people I know do not fool with weight training in cycling season. If they do, they take the next day off.

I don't know how you weight train. The way I heard it is that you need to lift until your muscles are completely fatigued. Doing that sort of thing beats up the legs and you should give them a rest (how long depends on the person).

You seem to enjoy exercise. If you could switch over to swimming that might help. Swimming is largely upper body and it would give your legs a bit of a lay off.
Old 09-09-11, 10:26 AM
ericm979

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Take a couple days off. Actually if you really have been doing this every single day for years, take a week off.

Doing the same thing every day is a poor way to train. You need both stress and rest in order to improve. You will find that you improve with proper rest.