Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Hybrid or Roadie?

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Hybrid or Roadie?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-12, 11:11 PM
newbikermtb

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hybrid or Roadie?

I'm new to the biking world and picked up a cannondale trail 6 about 2 months ago. It comes with standard 26 X 2.1 MTB tires, and I've finished 2 X 200kms brevet rides on this bike.

I think it's time to up the game and attempt a 400KM brevet next month, but then I am thinking a MTB will be too much of a drag as my average speed during the first and second Brevet has been 13 and 14.38 miles per hour respectively.

I was considering replacing my tires with slick ones so as to save myself some money, but I am being recommended to buy a hybrid bike instead - something like a Trek 7.1FX or Trek 7.3FX that will add at least 3 miles per hour more to my average speed.

Any thoughts/suggestions from members here will be greatly appreciated.

Should I buy a hybrid or just go for a roadie - My understanding is that the hybrid is only to save money by not buying a roadie... is there any sense in buying a hybrid, when 6 months down, I might be looking for a roadie to attempt a 600 km brevet ?

Thanks

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
cannondaletrail6.jpg (95.4 KB, 28 views)
Old 11-27-12, 11:24 PM
creonte

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sounds seriously like you should get a road bike.
Old 11-28-12, 01:28 AM
a1penguin

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked 33 Times in 20 Posts