Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

How many miles you commute daily and how long it takes?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-10, 09:52 PM
kekkiumai
sunset lover

Bikes: had 3 but forgot. 1 got stolen... now looking for a similar bike like mamachari

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm planning to commute to work with a bike, because I have no choice and because I'm poor and can't afford anything else for the time being. So I'm relatively new to this whole bike commuting venture. Would someone care to give me some insights on what to bring along for emergencies? I'll be commuting 6.5 miles one way and round trip would be 13 miles for the day in total. Would a beach cruiser go well for commuting? And how long would it take me to ride 6.5 miles on average? Flat tire issues? Lights for night commutes? Safety? I would very much appreciate it if someone can give me a break down on how bike commuting goes. I generally worry about getting a flat tire and becoming super late for work and such. How to prevent? On the topic question, please list your daily commute miles and how long it takes you. Thanks for viewing!
Old 08-06-10, 10:23 PM
episodic

Bikes: Had a Surly Cross Check - was totaled in recent accident. Sadly now just a Fuji Crosstown as a backup bike.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2.1 miles each way - about 7 minutes going - 4 or 5 coming home. Probably not useful to what you were looking for. . .