Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Safest bike for commuting

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-18, 11:39 AM
norker

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have been commuting to work for 30 yrs in New York City. Last year I got rid of failing mountain bike and replaced with a Specialized hybrid which is much faster and lighter. But since then I have had 3 falls triggered by slight touches by a car or other bike resulting in broken thumb and fractured ribs. There is a lot more but traffic recently partly because of Citibike proram and I am certainly older ( 72 ), but I wonder if my new bike is less "stable". So rather than give up riding, which everyone has suggested, my questions are -what is the most stable kind of bike? Is there protective apparel that I can wear?
Old 07-14-18, 12:19 PM
Darth Lefty 
Disco Infiltrator

Bikes: Stormchaser, Paramount, Tilt, Samba tandem

Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Quoted: 3126 Post(s)
Liked 2,103 Times in 1,367 Posts
Originally Posted by norker
I have been commuting to work for 30 yrs in New York City. Last year I got rid of failing mountain bike and replaced with a Specialized hybrid which is much faster and lighter. But since then I have had 3 falls triggered by slight touches by a car or other bike resulting in broken thumb and fractured ribs. There is a lot more but traffic recently partly because of Citibike proram and I am certainly older ( 72 ), but I wonder if my new bike is less "stable". So rather than give up riding, which everyone has suggested, my questions are -what is the most stable kind of bike? Is there protective apparel that I can wear?