Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Spokes Poking out of Nipples

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-12, 08:15 AM
StevePGN10

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I am replacing some broken spokes in a 27" rear wheel and have a problem for which I can't find information in the archive.

I loosened all the spokes, replaced the two spokes which had broken, used a ground-down phillips screwdriver to tighten the nipples until they cammed out, starting applying tension, got the wheel nicely true, then started increasing tension with 1/4 turns on all spokes. I was a happy wheel technician until I noticed that many of the spokes were poking out the inside of the nipple. I don't have access to a spoke tensiometer, but the spokes didn't appear to be unreasonably tensioned. I decided to loosen all the spokes and re-true. The wheel is true again, but I'm concerned the spokes are too loose. What can be done to determine sufficient tension when one does not have a tensiometer?

Would it be a foolish thing to re-tension all the spokes and somehow trim the exposed spokes? Something tells me that the manufacturer got the wheel properly tensioned with the spokes at their present length, and that I should be able to as well.
Old 03-14-12, 08:37 AM
mrrabbit 

Bikes: 2001 Tommasini Sintesi w/ Campagnolo Daytona 10 Speed

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked 35 Times in 30 Posts
Spokes are too long....

If this is a single-wall 27" wheel, the spokes should top out at or slightly above the screwdriver flats of the nipples when proper tension has been achieved.