Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Dry feet? Is it possible during rainy weather?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-07, 01:00 PM
klamyfeat

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

This is my first year cycling during the rainy westcoast fall/winter and I'm finding it very difficult keeping my feet and shoes dry.

I bought waterproof shoe covers but the water spinning off the front wheel and the heavy rain from above hits my legs and drips down, past my shoes covers, and into my socks/shoes.

I've entertained the idea of waterproof pants over top of my shorts but even in the fitting rooms, I find them restrictive and awkward. Another possiblity would be tights or leg warmers but the majority of these are made of lycra and I don't think they would prevent the water from seeping in between my legs and shoe covers.

Would attaching a front fender to deflect water downward and away from my legs help? I'm not sure this would effectively keep the water off legs since it's also raining from above.

Since the temp. on the westcoast is relatively mild, I'd love to cycle all winter and any advice would me much appreciated. Does it really matter if my shoes get wet? I just don't want them to prematurely wear.
Old 10-01-07, 01:04 PM
botto 

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 27 Times in 12 Posts
Originally Posted by klamyfeat
No.

This is my first year cycling during the rainy westcoast fall/winter and I'm finding it very difficult keeping my feet and shoes dry.