Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

What should I do?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

What should I do?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-10, 12:10 PM
waanfiride
I Only Got One Ventricle

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What should I do?

I live in a pretty rural place, and I have to commute to the city every morning... there is one road basically to get there, and as you can imagine it's often crowded and busy. One part of the road is a ~2 mile stretch that is very tight, narrow lanes, and not much of a shoulder at all. The speed limit is 35, but people regularly blow through there at 50+ I'm pretty new to road cycling in general, but I feel pretty good on roads- but I'm not sure if this is something that I want to try, because it could get real messy.

There is a sidewalk though, but there is a town ordinance (maybe it's more than just my town) that says that you can't bike on a side walk. So... what do you think I should do? Ride in the road, and maybe risk it (I feel that this road is WAY more risky than most) or ride on the sidewalk for that small stretch of it?

Thanks.
Old 03-23-10, 12:26 PM
Glynis27
Spinning @ 33 RPM

Bikes: '89 Fuji Saratoga, '97 Schwinn Mesa SS, '07 Felt F1X, '10 Transition TransAM, '11 Soma Analog SS

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Does anyone walk on the sidewalk? Are there many driveways and roads that cross the sidewalk for that 2 mile stretch?
Old 03-23-10, 12:27 PM
waanfiride
I Only Got One Ventricle

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
not a lot of walkers, maybe 1 or two if that. There are a few gas stations but that's it on that stretch.
Old 03-23-10, 01:15 PM
colleen c
I am a caffine girl