Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Cantilever Brakes vs V-Brakes for Touring

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-16, 06:42 AM
Inpd

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,

I've built up the Windsor tourist. It took a few hours about half of which were spent fiddling with the cantilever brakes as I've never used them before. Those brakes don't exactly fill me with confidence.

I have a set of v-brakes and mini v-brakes as well which would fit on the cantilever posts and I could use those as well.

So what are the pros/cons for touring for:

a) Cantilever brakes
b) V-brakes
c) Mini v-brakes

I have Tiaga (9 speed) STIs.
Old 09-30-16, 06:59 AM
bradtx

Bikes: Cannondale, Trek, Raleigh, Santana

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Inpd, Look at Sheldon Brown's web site (Mechanic's Forum) for tips on canti set-up.

Linear pull (V-brake) require a dedicated brake lever or an adapter due to a cable pull difference than that of caliper and cantilever brakes. Mini-V is compatibele, but may limit fender clearance. Linear pull brakes can also limit fender clearance.

Brad
Old 09-30-16, 07:12 AM
fastturtle

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am touring with a bike similar to the Windsor Tourist, with drop bars and brifters. Originally it was equiped with v-brakes and travel agents pulleys to adapt cable pull. It got issues with cable being worn prematurely and breaking in the travel agent. So I installed cantilevers, and it works fine. It is true that braking power is slightly lower and tuning a bit messier, but I find it still OK.