Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Re: RIDE WITH GPS elevation calculations

Old 06-28-19, 04:24 PM
AllWeatherJeff
Old Dog, New Tricks

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: RIDE WITH GPS elevation calculations

I'm new to the Ride With GPS app. So far the calculated/predicted elevation gain never matches up with my recorded totals.

On the handful of routes I've ridden using the RWgps app, the recorded elevation gain is 15-25% more than what is predicted the app prior to the ride.

Which is more accurate? Does this discrepancy have more to do with service provider (Verizon) than anything else?

Thanks.
Old 06-28-19, 04:55 PM
jimincalif

Bikes: '96 Trek 850, '08 Specialized Roubaix Comp, '18 Niner RLT RDO

Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked 123 Times in 83 Posts
Lots of variables. Here in South Orange County, CA, RWGPS overstates the elevation gain as compared to Strava mapping, my Garmin and the bike computers of most everyone I ride with. However in other parts of SoCal, like the San Gabriel mountains, RWGPS elevation seems spot on. You'd think RWGPS and Strava would use the same mapping data, but apparently not, at least here. For example, here's a century I did earlier this month:

RWGPS route planning 97.1 miles, 7,820'
Strava route planning 97.8 miles, 6,730'
My Garmin 520+ recorded 97.9 miles, 6,138'

If you are using a phone app, that's yet another variable. I don't think it's the service provider, smartphones use GPS satellite signals for position (latitude, longitude & elevation).

Go figure.
Old 06-28-19, 06:59 PM
clasher

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)