Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

HELP Shimano brifter barrel adjuster stuck...I think

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

HELP Shimano brifter barrel adjuster stuck...I think

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-23, 02:39 PM
bikemike73 

Bikes: 1973 Schwinn Sports Tourer plus a " few" more :)

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked 199 Times in 147 Posts
HELP Shimano brifter barrel adjuster stuck..

I tried to make adjustments somewhat following the park tool video.
I got a little over zealous with the barrel adjuster.
Now it's sticking out( see pic) and cannot get back "seated".
I am new to this, and usually let my friend, who is a bike mechanic do this type of service.
I tried....but failed...ugh
How can I get the barrel adjuster that's in the brifter back "seated" to original position?

I turned the adjuster on the downtube so much that it came right out.
I did screw it back in.

Would really appreciate any and all help....please

Last edited by bikemike73; 12-01-23 at 03:08 PM. Reason: Correcting
Old 12-01-23, 05:41 PM
bikemike73 

I was just thinking...the cable is not attached.

Would I just attach and then twist the barrel adjuster???

That should "pull ot back in place" at the brifter

I'm all mixed up
Old 12-01-23, 07:26 PM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4210 Post(s)
Liked 3,875 Times in 2,315 Posts