Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Best place to lock bike?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Best place to lock bike?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-20, 06:25 PM
DreamRider85

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 14 Posts
Best place to lock bike?

I’m new to bike locks. Just got a Z lock. I stopped at a market and didn’t see any bike racks. I found this small piece stapled to to a pillar and locked it but generally speaking I don’t know where I’m gonna find the right spots to put my bike. Like I said I’m new to locks. Do you have any general tips?
Old 07-30-20, 06:49 PM
Illgot

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 8 Posts
I use signs when I have to, tension wires for utility poles, I have had to walk a block just to find a secure spot to lock up. I carry a u-lock from Krytonite though so my choices are a bit limited. Just make sure that what ever you lock up to is secured to the ground or a wall. I have seen a lot of bicycle racks that are not secured; not going to risk putting my bike on a rack someone can toss in the back of their truck.
Old 07-30-20, 07:01 PM
70sSanO

Bikes: 1986 Cannondale SR400 (Flat bar commuter), 1988 Cannondale Criterium XTR, 1992 Serotta T-Max, 1995 Trek 970

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Quoted: 1944 Post(s)
Liked 2,164 Times in 1,323 Posts
Generally u-locks (kryptonite, abus) are good. I will also use an Abus chain with a good padlock, like Abloy, for store situations in lower crime areas. If there is not a rack or steel fence, or a fixture in concrete, a light pole is good. You want to make sure the wheels are locked along with the bike.