Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

General aluminum frame perceptions.

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-11, 06:05 AM
ftwelder

Bikes: Many

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts

Hi, I have been making mostly aluminum frames for many years. In the recent past, I usually used 6061 exclusively. I got great results regarding performance, weight and durability using that material but the demand has gradually vanished for 6061 MTB's. I have begun to build more 7005 aluminum frames. I usually sell to shops or brands at this point. I have made about 500 custom frames over the years and have welded may be 5000 frames in both steel and aluminum.

I don't ride very much road but I have built myself a nice Zona TIG welded frame. I am also going to do a lugged/brazed frame in the same geo as well as a 7005 aluminum frame for some comparisons.

In doing research, I see that there are special 7005 sets advertised by manufacturers claiming to offer better mechanical properties. Columbus would be one example with XLR8R and AIRPLANE.

These kits are quite expensive when compared to "commercial" versions. I like the idea of trying to make something better (from my standpoint) but I only do the construction. I would like to make an high-end aluminum product that is attractive to a segment of the market.