Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

A new thread on threads

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

A new thread on threads

Old 06-12-19, 03:27 PM
Cycle Tourist

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked 206 Times in 125 Posts
A new thread on threads

I've been working on bikes for quite a few years now and remember working on an old bike I thought was a Raliegh. I tried replacing the headset with an English (Japanese) headset and had trouble with the threads. It seemed to fit and the first couple of turns screwed on fine. As I continued though it got more and more reluctant to turn. I checked for cross threading and didn't see an issue but couldn't get the nut to go more than a few turns on the forks without resistance. I did a little research and found an article on different but similar threading that seemed to fit my situation. The article said that by continuing to force the nut I'd "adjust" the similar threading to fit the Japanese nut but once "adjusted" I couldn't go back to the original threads. I grabbed a bar to give me more leverage and some oil and went to work. Everything worked out and I now could easily screw and unscrew the nuts that held the bearings snug on the fork. I came upon the same situation on the bottom bracket and used the same method to change those threads. It seems to me both sides of the bottom bracket were right handed threads and I ended up using adjustable cups instead of fixed cups on the drive side. It was so long ago I can't remember what threads those were. Did old English bikes use Italian threads or was it something else particular to English bikes of the 70's? French threads seem quite a bit different so I don't think they were those. I came across an old french bike that had English threa