Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area
Reload this Page >

Ask your small, random, track-related questions here

Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Ask your small, random, track-related questions here

Old 03-04-15, 01:32 PM
  #2051  
Jared.
Uninformed Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Union County, NJ
Posts: 1,117

Bikes: Dolan Pre Cursa, Cannondale R400

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did a total of four match sprints last year as a CAT5 racer. There were so many other aspects of the match sprint I got wrong that my ability/desire to track stand wouldn't have made even the slightest difference.
Jared. is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 01:48 PM
  #2052  
Quinn8it
Senior Member
 
Quinn8it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 956

Bikes: Bianchi Pista, Bianchi Vigorelli

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Track standing is not the only, or the best way to get yourself in to the trailing position...
Quinn8it is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 02:11 PM
  #2053  
Huffandstuff
Senior Member
 
Huffandstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jared. View Post
I did a total of four match sprints last year as a CAT5 racer. There were so many other aspects of the match sprint I got wrong that my ability/desire to track stand wouldn't have made even the slightest difference.
Me too, I have no idea what I'm doing out there when doing a match sprint, I just try to be faster than the other guy.
Huffandstuff is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 06:45 PM
  #2054  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Quinn8it View Post
people don't do that to me
The first chance I get to come to SoCal, I will avail myself to the services of a certain Homeric establishment on a Friday night. The next day, I will make my way down to the track, pin my ass on Quinn's bar, ride him to the rail, and trackstand. I will then proceed to tell him of the lovely dinner I had the night previous. After two minutes and fifty-nine seconds, I will roll ahead, trackstand again, and tell him about dessert.
taras0000 is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 07:47 PM
  #2055  
Quinn8it
Senior Member
 
Quinn8it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 956

Bikes: Bianchi Pista, Bianchi Vigorelli

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I like that story!!
Quinn8it is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 10:02 PM
  #2056  
WhatsYoCadence
Annoying Member
 
WhatsYoCadence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wow, I only asked about etiquette.
WhatsYoCadence is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 11:35 PM
  #2057  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
But going back to real trackstanding business, I think that the ability is underrated. It seldom gets used, but it's a good tool to have. I've benefitted from the ability numerous times. Without a track nearby, I learned by finding progressive slopes where it was convenient to practice. I first started on a quiet side street using the slope provided by the crown of the road. First on the right side, then on the left side to mimic the track slope. I then went to getting myself sideways on sloping driveways. Ramps that lead into underground parking lots were next. Make sure that you can pull/skip your back wheel up the bank to get yourself pointing down the slope. You control your roll forward/back with the front wheel and back pressure on the left pedal. Turn your front wheel up the track and it will help you roll backwards you'll roll backwards.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1817Jxl1ve0

With the right bike/front wheel angle, you only need moderate back pressure to stay in one spot. You'll know you have the right balance when you're weight is on the back leg, but barely. You should feel as if you could hold it all day. You want your right leg forward as it will help you shoot down the bank when you accelerate on that first stroke. You'll see this set up in all the top sprinter's track stands. You'll also see the exact opposite when they do standing starts because left foot forward helps to keep you straight/up the track.
taras0000 is offline  
Old 03-04-15, 11:52 PM
  #2058  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
In this video, Botticher has the better track stand positioning and form. Forstemann is pointing up track and is loading his "go" leg. You want to load your back leg and not your front leg. You'll be able to respond/make a move much quicker and more forcefully in the Botticher stance compared to the Forstemann stance.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-D4UKEa7B8A
taras0000 is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 11:39 AM
  #2059  
Quinn8it
Senior Member
 
Quinn8it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 956

Bikes: Bianchi Pista, Bianchi Vigorelli

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by WhatsYoCadence View Post
Wow, I only asked about etiquette.
Mind if I ask- how much match sprinting have you done?
Quinn8it is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 05:37 PM
  #2060  
SBUndefeated201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does the Isis BB for the FSA Carbon crankset require a special tool for installation?
SBUndefeated201 is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 05:54 PM
  #2061  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Depends on which BB. This might help - Park Tool Co. » ParkTool Blog » Bottom Bracket Tool Selection
taras0000 is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 06:01 PM
  #2062  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by SBUndefeated201 View Post
Does the Isis BB for the FSA Carbon crankset require a special tool for installation?
Yes. The bigger question is, "Which one?"

If you have a part number from the BB, you can use that to determine which tool to buy.

Originally Posted by taras0000 View Post
+1
carleton is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 06:27 PM
  #2063  
SBUndefeated201
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by carleton View Post
Yes. The bigger question is, "Which one?"

If you have a part number from the BB, you can use that to determine which tool to buy.



+1
I should have added this: I will be taking it to a shop that works primarily on fixed and track bikes. Would it be a tool that most shops would have (the shop even carries the Crankset on their website) or is it an uncommon bb tool?
SBUndefeated201 is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 09:24 PM
  #2064  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
most likely
taras0000 is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 10:58 PM
  #2065  
nspace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Received and installed my Campagnolo track cranks this evening. I used the existing crank bolts that I had as the BB or cranks do not come with them. I noticed that the dust covers will not install fully as they bottom out on the crank bolt. I am assuming I need a bolt with a shallower head. I also think that bolt is supposed to be a 15mm hex bolt. Can anyone recommend a crank bolt which has worked for them with these cranks? I saw someone selling Campagnolo 15mm bolts on ebay for $35 for a set, but their ought to be other options? Will a 14mm bolt work the same?
nspace is offline  
Old 03-05-15, 11:23 PM
  #2066  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by nspace View Post
Received and installed my Campagnolo track cranks this evening. I used the existing crank bolts that I had as the BB or cranks do not come with them. I noticed that the dust covers will not install fully as they bottom out on the crank bolt. I am assuming I need a bolt with a shallower head. I also think that bolt is supposed to be a 15mm hex bolt. Can anyone recommend a crank bolt which has worked for them with these cranks? I saw someone selling Campagnolo 15mm bolts on ebay for $35 for a set, but their ought to be other options? Will a 14mm bolt work the same?
You might have to buy them. I'd ask over in Bike Mechanics. They may know of some reasonably priced crank arm bolts that will work.

The Campy bolts are stamped:

carleton is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 09:05 AM
  #2067  
nspace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks! Yeah I don't really care what the bolts are, as long as I can get the dust caps on. I've read with 15mm bolts it can be hard to get a socket in there without a thinner socket like a peanut butter wrench. I was wondering this morning if it might be worth trying a 14mm Sugino hex bolt instead.
nspace is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 11:13 AM
  #2068  
700wheel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by nspace View Post
Thanks! Yeah I don't really care what the bolts are, as long as I can get the dust caps on. I've read with 15mm bolts it can be hard to get a socket in there without a thinner socket like a peanut butter wrench. I was wondering this morning if it might be worth trying a 14mm Sugino hex bolt instead.
14 and 15 mm bolts have different thread dimensions so I do not recommend using the wrong size.

I would just forget about using dust caps (I don't use them on my track bike). Alternately take your existing bolts to a machinist and have them thin down the head (you could also machine down a socket at the same time). My bike has campy cranks but is at the velodrome so unable to check bolt size.
700wheel is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 11:22 AM
  #2069  
nspace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 700wheel View Post
14 and 15 mm bolts have different thread dimensions so I do not recommend using the wrong size.

I would just forget about using dust caps (I don't use them on my track bike). Alternately take your existing bolts to a machinist and have them thin down the head (you could also machine down a socket at the same time). My bike has campy cranks but is at the velodrome so unable to check bolt size.
Thanks, that is good to know about the bolt! I just used the chrome plated bolts i had on my Miche cranks. I did learn that the cranks were actually supposed to come with the bolts. Wiggle says they will send me some. Until then I will just use what I have.

I did notice the crank arm clearances are a bit odd. The NDS crank arm is much closer than the DS. I will have to measure tonight. I put those bolts in there pretty tight and wouldn't feel comfortable putting them on any tighter. Not sure if its normal for the DS to have so much more clearance than the NDS?

BB/chainstays are symmetrical and I am using the matching Campagnolo pista BB with 111mm spindle.
nspace is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 11:31 AM
  #2070  
Baby Puke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kanazawa
Posts: 1,450

Bikes: Marin Stelvio, Pogliaghi SL, Panasonic NJS, Dolan DF4, Intense Pro24 BMX

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bolts usually come with the BB in my experience.

But who uses dust caps?
Baby Puke is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 11:39 AM
  #2071  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
nspace, are you sure that you are using a track bottom bracket and track crank arms?
carleton is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 11:50 AM
  #2072  
nspace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by carleton View Post
nspace, are you sure that you are using a track bottom bracket and track crank arms?
This is the BB I ordered. Cranks are brand new as well and yes track cranks.
wiggle.com | Campagnolo Record Pista Track Bottom Bracket | Bottom Brackets

Here is a photo.

Last edited by nspace; 03-06-15 at 11:56 AM.
nspace is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 12:57 PM
  #2073  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by nspace View Post
This is the BB I ordered. Cranks are brand new as well and yes track cranks.
wiggle.com | Campagnolo Record Pista Track Bottom Bracket | Bottom Brackets

Here is a photo.
Yeah, that looks like the right one. It's 111mm symmetrical.

When you mentioned that it looked like one crank arm was further from the frame than the other it made me wonder if you had an asymmetrical road BB.

It's weird that you bought them new and there were no crank fixing bolts. I've never bought Campy cranks new, so I'm not sure if they come with the kit or separately. But, they should come with them, you'd think.
carleton is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 01:20 PM
  #2074  
nspace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did a bit of searching and apparently they were supposed to come with them. At least that is just a cosmetic issue at this point. The BB everyone says is symmetrical but Campagnolo lists it the pista BB as asymmetrical for some reason.

I'll try to get a photo tonight if I have time to pick-up my bike from the track. The frame definitely as asymmetrical chainstays as well. The clearance itself isn't an issue, I'd say I probably have maybe 3mm on the NDS, but on the NDS theres more than that, at least double. I firmed up those crank bolts more than I have with other square taper cranks (and I own quite a few), but don't want to try to force it any further. I put cranks on ungreased as specified by Campagnolo. You can still see there is some more taper/spindle in front of the crank arm, but that is pretty typical in my experience. I'll measure the chainline as well. I suppose none of this is really an issue if chainline is correct.
nspace is offline  
Old 03-06-15, 01:36 PM
  #2075  
Brian Ratliff
Senior Member
 
Brian Ratliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Near Portland, OR
Posts: 10,113

Bikes: Three road bikes. Two track bikes.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by carleton View Post
...

It's weird that you bought them new and there were no crank fixing bolts. I've never bought Campy cranks new, so I'm not sure if they come with the kit or separately. But, they should come with them, you'd think.
I think Campy packages crank bolts with their cranks, not their bottom brackets.
__________________
Cat 2 Track, Cat 3 Road.
"If you’re new enough [to racing] that you would ask such question, then i would hazard a guess that if you just made up a workout that sounded hard to do, and did it, you’d probably get faster." --the tiniest sprinter
Brian Ratliff is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.